Fabrication Custom fabrication ideas and concepts ranging from body kits, interior work, driveline tech, and much more.

DIY Home Made Nitrous Remote Bottle Opener Mark1

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 02:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1987 Trans Am
Engine: 355ci L98 soon to be turbo'd
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 2.73 posi
DIY Home Made Nitrous Remote Bottle Opener Mark1

Ok, I'll start off by saying that I'm not a professional machinist like half of you and I'm not a millionaire like the other half of you. I live in an apartment. With this in mind, I had a goal to make some sort of remote bottle opener, cheaply, and very effectively and with only basic tools, or rather, not advance tools I can't keep in my apartment...

I had thought about this since I got my nitrous kit a while back. I previously had the bottle in the hump between the back 2 seats so I can reach over and open the bottle when the "need" arose. I never liked the bottle in that location because the color of the bottle kind of clashed with the interior and I was a bit "uneasy" having it there. I always wanted to put the bottle in the spare tire area, but wanted the convenience of opening the bottle from the driver seat. While bored at work, I came up with some very rough "blue prints" and simple schematics. I'm very creative and new exactly what parts would work. From having a Firebird and having headlight assembly issues before, I knew the headlight motor would have enough torque to fully open and fully close a nitrous bottle. The hardest parts where finding a way to link the motor shaft to the bottle nozzle/handle and securing the whole motor to the bottle. This is only a first run. I hope to make improvements to both, securing the unit and the connection between the motor and the bottle...