Power Adders Getting a Supercharger or Turbocharger? Thinking about using Nitrous? All forced induction and N2O topics discussed here.

Advice for Nitrous Kit on a 1988 Trans Am

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2021, 04:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1988 Trans Am
Engine: 350 TPI
Transmission: Auto
Advice for Nitrous Kit on a 1988 Trans Am

Hello everyone, I'm planning on adding nitrous to my 88 Trans Am project car but I'm pretty new to the world of performance mods, especially nitrous. I've done some research and I'm hoping to do a 125hp shot, but I'm not sure what kit I should go with. I will do a compression and leakdown test before adding nitrous, and ensure that the fuel pump is up to snuff. The car was originally someone else's project before I bought it (he was older and had too many projects and not enough time) but he really knew his stuff and I trust any work that he did to the car. Here's some info about the car and what's been done to it so hopefully you can help point me in the right direction.

-Originally a 305 TPI but now has a 350 TPI swapped in from a 1990 Firebird Formula.
-Has an upgraded cam (nothing crazy) and 3 inch headers along with a cat back Magnaflow exhaust.
-All new springs, struts, shocks, brushings, brakes, etc... and posi-traction.

So given that info what kit would you recommend for a 125 shot? What spark plugs? Is there anything else I should replace or add? Timing (variable? since I wont be running it on nitrous super often)? Is a tune needed?
I also want to have a purge kit, and I'm planning on purging out the side vents on the fenders on each side.

Thanks for reading, any advice is appreciated.
Old 10-27-2021, 05:36 PM
Supreme Member

Received 280 Likes on 218 Posts
Car: 1987 IROC-Z
Engine: 406 on N20 w/ EFI
Transmission: P.B. 700R4
Axle/Gears: 12 bolt w/ 3.91
Re: Advice for Nitrous Kit on a 1988 Trans Am

NOS makes a pretty inclusive kit for this:

https://www.holley.com/products/nitr...parts/05151NOS