Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

car won't start :(

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2011, 01:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '92 Firebird + '06 Charger R/T
Engine: Firebird 3.1L V6
Transmission: Firebird Automatic
car won't start :(

eh, I just started having the problem yesterday. I'm by no means a mechanic, so I feel so left in the dark.

The engine turns over when you attempt to start, but it won't start. If you step on the gas pedal the engine will rev and die as soon as you take your foot off the pedal.

I have NO idea what's going on with this. Hoping maybe someone else has had this problem, just checking. Thanks guys

92 Firebird 3.1L
Old 07-13-2011, 01:37 AM

Re: car won't start :(

bump?
Old 07-13-2011, 02:05 AM

Car: 1987 iroc Z-28 5.7 TPI
Engine: 5.7 TPI
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: 3.27

there are three reasons a car won't start fire,fuel or air. One of the three is not happening or a combination of them but it sounds like you have no spark or fire happening. Could be a distributer,coil,starter. Do you have any friends mechanically inclined close by? If so call one maybe together you can figure it out.
Old 07-13-2011, 02:54 AM

I noticed some of your other posts related to electrical issues well that is your fire. You could have knocked something loose when your were dealing with other issues be sure to ck all your fuses and make sure none are blown out
Old 07-13-2011, 04:15 AM

I did accidently blow the accesory fuse when working on another wiring project unrelated to the hatch release I had previously posted about. Do you know if there are any other fuse blocks to check other than the one under the driver side of the dash?