TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Use of TPI on something other than a V8

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2024, 07:32 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Use of TPI on something other than a V8

Okay. Crazy question of the day. Yes, I searched. Not just here. The entire internet. Literally. Before you ask, I have built several engines myself, so I am not exactly a novice here. I even own a few books on TPI. The information I am looking for seems to be a tad obscure. My question is this: can TPI run an engine with a cylinder count different than 8 if the displacement is fairly similar? Say, a 305 cubic inch V6? Or, just for grins, potentially 2 smaller engines whose combined displacement is around 5.0 or 5.7 liters? If I understand correctly, TPI is batch fire and essentially just a slightly smarter version of TBI. I would be using an MAF setup, which might make things a little easier. If it fires injectors in banks, then injector sequence would be irrelevant, but is there a spark timing issue? At this point I am theorizing that I can modify an intake manifold to accept 8 injectors and modify a distributor for the appropriate number of cylinders and the computer won't know or care how many cylinders are actually firing. Am I wrong? I can't seem to find any information or knowledge on the subject. Maybe I'm asking the wrong question when I search. Any help or advice or direction toward the knowledge I seek is greatly appreciated. Just trying to use up all my TPI parts and do something crazy at the same time. I do realize that if the answer is yes that it will require fabrication and tuning. Thanks in advance. I look forward to the replies.
Old 01-24-2024, 07:39 PM
Supreme Member

Received 373 Likes on 275 Posts
Car: 1989 IROC-Z
Engine: L98 350 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: BW 9 Bolt / 2.77 Posi
Re: Use of TPI on something other than a V8