Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

Help with my manual transmission please

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2010, 08:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1987 Camaro
Engine: 305 carbureted 4barrel V8
Transmission: T5
Help with my manual transmission please

Obviously, I am new to this forum. I am also new to third gen camaros. I have driven a few in the past, but never owned one until I found one in amazing condition for 1200 bucks. The only problem it has is the transmission. It is a 1987 305 4barrel carbed engine with a manual transmission. The transmission does first gear ok and does fourth and fifth extremely quiet, but second and third gear are very loud and jump after second or third is initially engaged. Also, when I downshift into second or third to slow down before a stop, the car lurches. The previous owner said the tranny has been loud and lurched on downshifts for the three years that he has owned it and it hasnt gotten any worse. I can live with the loud tranny, and I can live with shifting into nuetral instead of engine braking, but it would be nice if I didnt have to. My question is "does anybody have these issues/ know how to fix them?" The previous owner also gave me a spare tranny that he said worked fine when he pulled it out of another third gen. My second question would be "if there isn't any way to fix the tranny, how hard would it be to install the spare?" I do have mechanical experience, but have never changed a transmission. I have done a clutch in a 93 blazer, but never any actual tranny work. Any help and information would be appreciated. Thanks Guys. And yes, I did search before posting but to no avail.

Last edited by sidewok; 05-08-2010 at 07:21 AM.
Old 05-07-2010, 08:20 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Car: 1986 Chevrolet Camaro
Engine: 355 chevy
Transmission: t-5
Axle/Gears: 3.73 disc brakes
Re: Help with my manual transmission please