V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

im at my whits end on this

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2013, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1992 camaro rs convertible
Engine: 3.1 liter v6
Transmission: automatic
Axle/Gears: 3.23 posi trac
im at my whits end on this

OK so I've been driving my car around for a good 4 to 5 months now. Well what's wrong is that my car has been overheating (260 degrees) and before it started over heating it developed a knock from the back side of the motor on the bottom near the passenger side. Ive had people tell me its a wrist pin, rod, and all sorts of stuff ive even been told its the water pump buy idk. I've got a 3.4 out if my moms 1995 camaro and im very tempted to put it in. Now heres my questions hasand anyone had problems out of there wrist pins and would i get the same horsepower and mpg out of her motor or should i just try to fix mine. And another thing i cant really seem to find on here would i have to use her ecm and wires that hook up to her ecm in mine or can i use wiring. This has really been bad because if any of yall have beem to alabama in the summer yall know how hot it gets and Im really conserened with this considering this is my dream car and my first car
Old 05-27-2013, 08:22 PM

Re: im at my whits end on this

If you're going to swap engines anyways - why not remove/disassemble your engine first and determine what is broken and if it is worth repairing before proceeding with the swap.
Old 05-27-2013, 10:08 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 86-FireBird
Engine: -MPFI
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3:42

run it till it blows........
Old 05-28-2013, 07:42 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 1991 camaro rs
Engine: 3.1 - looking to upgrade to 3400 hy
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: Stock? Lol
Sounds like timing. Too far advance timing will cause knocking and overheating.

Posted from Thirdgen.org App for Android
Old 06-02-2013, 06:17 AM