Car Audio Car audio related questions and helpful hints for building the best sound system for your car or getting the most out of what you have.

Do I really need a 2nd battery???

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2010, 03:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: '91 RS, '72 Pro/Street Z28
Engine: 305 TBI, Blown 468ci w/NOS
Transmission: 5 Spd, 2 Spd Powerglide
Axle/Gears: 3.08, 4.88
Do I really need a 2nd battery???

Ok, I need your advice. I have a competition series MA Audio 4400W amp & (2) 12" Pioneer subs that handle 3000W each. (I'll only be running 2200w rms though the amp though) I actually had this amp & subs in my 98 Vette before I totalled it, and it sounded REALLY good in there. BTW, I'm a drummer that only listens to hard rock, therefore I like extremely Tight bass.

What I'm wondering is,....do you think I really need to run a Power Cell battery? I was running a Kinetic HC800 in the Vette and it seemed to work pretty good. I'm just wondering if it's absolutely neccessary to run one of these power cell batteries at 2200w rms? Would a strong Fared cap do the trick?

I know I'll need a stronger alternator and some 0 gauge wire for the install, but I'm not too sure about the battery. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I can easily build an 800HP motor, but when it comes to electronics, I might as well be def & blind. Thanks in advance!!!

Last edited by Str8upChevy; 04-25-2010 at 04:32 PM.
Old 04-20-2010, 05:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 Camaro Sports Coupe
Engine: 355 chev
Transmission: none at the time
Axle/Gears: stock 10bolt v6 gears
Re: Do I really need a 2nd battery???

All of my buddies that run anything over 2000 always go with the second battery. The last bad sound system i've seen was running like hydraulic hose size power wire on the battery and always said capacitors weren't worth a crap.

I've always had 1000W so i wouldn't know how to tell you to do it, but google and we are your friends..
Old 04-25-2010, 04:08 PM