Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

383 swap vs LS1?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2018, 08:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Firebird Formula
383 swap vs LS1?

Good morning guys so I’m definitely doing a swap from L98 to one of the two!!! Few questions what’s better 383 vs LS1 also my 89 Bird has 4speed auto need thoughts on swapping over to manual during engine swap 🤙 thanks
Old 08-04-2018, 08:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Firebird Formula
Re: 383 swap vs LS1?

Also take it easy on my knowledge I build houses for a living not cars but I will keep learning through trail and error till eventually I’m an expert. There’s nothing better than working on your own S$&T!!! 🤙
Old 08-04-2018, 08:34 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1,662 Likes on 1,261 Posts
Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere

A stock LS1 will blow away ANYTHING you can put under TPI. A H/C/I/E LS1, ... hahahaha. And get better gas mileage, be more reliable overall, weigh less, ...

I don't see where there's even a shred of doubt as to the best choice.

You can probably pick up a newer motor than a LS1 for about the same price, that will perform much better than the original. For that matter, a 6.0 pullout from a truck might be worth consideration. I'd recommend the LQ9 out of about a 05 or 06 Escalade or Denali. Get the whole enchilada; transmission, wiring, fans, as MUCH as you possibly can. Maybe even, just buy a wrecked truck whole.

I'd leave it automatic if it was me. A GOOD torque converter will revolutionize it, along with a shift kit and a Vette or Superior servo.
Old 10-01-2018, 12:02 PM
Supreme Member

Received 36 Likes on 28 Posts
Car: 86 IROC
Engine: 383
Transmission: TKO 600
Axle/Gears: 3.54 Dana 44 IRS