TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

will lower compression affect computer?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2011, 12:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
will lower compression affect computer?

hey guys, so heres what im up against. right now i am trying to put an engine together for my truck so i dont have to drive my 70 el camino through all of the salt this winter. im a pretty broke college student that has a limited budget, but i want to do things right and have this engine last about another 70,000 miles. if i can get that, ill be happy.

so, i found a set of 191 heads fully rebuilt for 200 bucks, so i bought them. then i just so happened to have a new summit K1101 cam sitting around (got it for another project thats on the shelf) and i have seen talk that it runs pretty good in a tbi without a tune. the one thing that concerns me is the truck came with 193 heads, but one was cracked and needed to be replaced. i got the truck for a steal, so i didnt fuss about the cracked head and paid $500 for it. right now i have the block getting hot tanked and new cam bearings installed, with new main and rod bearings in the mail.

but my main concern is that i may have shot myself in the foot with the 191's because of the lower compression and the different camshaft. soooooo, how bad will this thing run? my dad had the same truck, and when i drove it while rebuilding the motor for the camino, i got around 20 mpg. with the head and cam combo i have, am i going to be around 18 mpg? or will it even run right? if not, i have a set of vortecs and a dual plane carb intake, what kind of mileage could i get from that setup if i run a quadrajet?

man, i can do some stupid stuff sometimes, shoulda just gota stock cam and 193's...
so, whatdoyathink guys?
Old 10-10-2011, 12:24 PM

Re: will lower compression affect computer?

oh, and the 191's are milled .050, average combustion chamber size is 72cc.