TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

85 TA turns over, won't start

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2014, 10:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 85 Trans Am
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
85 TA turns over, won't start

Have to start by saying, I'm a total noob on cars - be gentle please. I did brake jobs and some other small stuff (minor tune ups) long ago, but that's about it. Here's my current problem, would greatly appreciate any help/suggestions.

About six to eight years ago I hung up the keys and stored my car. I wanted to work on it, but didn't have resources. After a few years got it over to my place and started it after charging the battery and it ran just fine... About as fine as it did before going into storage. Before storing, it would have trouble starting back up after running for a while a driving around town. My uncle (who used to work full time as a mechanic) suggested replacing the fuel filter. When trying to do that, I broke the line fuel line. My neighbor offered to fix it as a favor - he liked working on cars, and we were working on moving houses. This was a little over a year ago. When he fixed the line and installed the new filter, he broke the break line. I had replaced the battery a couple years ago, and also dropped fresh gas in it (it was stored with about 3/4 of gas six years ago, with no stabil or anything added). Now, I've put the battery on the charger, looks like it has a good charge, so while having the charge on 50A start, I try starting it up and it just turns over like crazy. I hear the pump prime when I turn the key, but I'm not sure where to look now. Thoughts?

Thanks!
Old 08-02-2014, 03:52 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 1987 GTA
Engine: 350 TPI w/ extras !
Re: 85 TA turns over, won't start