Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

Changing your Torque Converter - Higher Stall

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2018, 02:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Changing your Torque Converter - Higher Stall

Just a useful lil FYI. I didnt know this when I just believed the mechanic who put in a higher stall converter and said there you go - free upgrade (of course its what he had available is why he did it) and than I wondered why the vehicle was slower taking off from a stop...

So this is how it works (someone correct me if Im wrong but I am an engineer in transmissions so I know a little about this stuff). The stall speed is the point at which the input shaft begins rotating with the engine at full throttle, hence driving the car. Engineers design the torque converter to match with the engine hp. This is designed so that the stall speed is the same point at which the engine is at max torque. The useable torque of an engine is when it starts dropping and you want max torque at takeoff. If you dont do any work to your engine and simply install a higher torque converter, meaning your car will take off for example at 3500 instead of 2500 engine rpm, this is at an rpm where the engine torque is less, and hence you will have worse takeoff. You also have a "looser" converter which generates more heat. If you go tighter, say 2000 rpm, you are again taking off under less hp and torque. The only reason to install a higher torque converter is if you've done a lot of work to your engine from stock. If your upgraded engine outputs higher hp and torque, now you have a converter that is too tight and you shoule get a higher stall converter and you'll notice a difference. Dont make the mistake that installing a higher converter helps with takeoff. If you havent done a lot to the engine it actually hurts it. Hopefully this helps. PS - Remember, allowing for more torque at a higher stall can risk damage to your transmission. It wasn't desi