V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

What does this do?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2018, 07:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1987 Firebird
Engine: 2.8L V6
Transmission: 700r4
What does this do?

So I bought an aftermarket temp gauge and from what I can tell your supposed to replace this little sensor/sender with it. But since I did that it’s over heating badly. So what does it do? https://goo.gl/images/dkGM9i that’s the link because the picture wouldn’t upload PLEASE HELP
Old 08-26-2018, 08:52 PM

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Car: 92 RS / 90 IROC-Z
Engine: 305 / 350
Transmission: Auto
Axle/Gears: Non-Posi / Posi - Both GU2 - 2.73
Re: What does this do?

Hey buddy,

While I'm not a pro... There is commonly two different Temp Sensors...

1. Coolant Temp Sensor - This is typically located in the Intake Manifold next to the Thermostat Housing
2. Coolant Temp Gauge Signal Sensor - IDK if that's the correct name but it's typically located in the driver side area near plugs 1/3.

*Your pic looks like the sensor on the driver side of my engine that sends the temp to the gauge. Does the aftermarket Temp Gauge come with a wire that was pre-terminated with its own connector or did you splice in the OEM connector and use the aftermarket sensor?

My best shot...
Old 08-26-2018, 08:57 PM

The gauge came with its own “tip” . I pulled the old sensor out and screwed in this diode that replaced the sensor. I didn’t have to splice it in just replace
Originally Posted by 92RS-HeritageEd
Hey buddy,

While I'm not a pro... There is commonly two different Temp Sensors...

1. Coolant Temp Sensor - This is typically located in the Intake Manifold next to the Thermostat Housing
2. Coolant Temp Gauge Signal Sensor - IDK if that's the correct name but it's typically located in the driver side area near plugs 1/3.