Carburetors Carb discussion and questions. Upgrading your Third Gen's carburetor, swapping TBI to carburetor, or TPI to carburetor? Need LG4 or H.O. info? Post it here.

carb identify

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2017, 02:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1986 Pontiac Trans Am
Engine: 5.0
Transmission: 700R4
carb identify

hello im kinda new to carbs (my last carb car was a 77 Mustang II like 7 yrs ago) i just picked up this 1987 Trans Am that had the carb replaced. anyone have any info on this carb? what is it? is this a stock unit? does anything look out of place?

reason i ask is the transmission shifts harsh. its not late or anything just hard even harsh shifting into D. i though maybe a TV cable adjustment but the cable looks ok
Attached Thumbnails carb identify-img_4894.jpg   carb identify-img_4895.jpg   carb identify-img_4896.jpg   carb identify-img_4897.jpg   carb identify-img_4898.jpg  

Old 04-05-2017, 02:55 PM
Supreme Member

Received 189 Likes on 149 Posts
Car: 1984 Trans Am L69
Engine: Sniper EFI Powered 355
Transmission: WC T5 w/ Steel Support Plate
Axle/Gears: 3.42 10 Bolt Posi
Re: carb identify

That is a stock replacement for the factory carb. If in doubt just readjust the TV cable it is easy enough to do

Amazon Amazon
Old 04-05-2017, 03:00 PM

Originally Posted by midias
That is a stock replacement for the factory carb. If in doubt just readjust the TV cable it is easy enough to do

Amazon Amazon
thanks for the reply, it looks like the part numbers match with the one in your link so im glad at least the previous owner got the right part. its been a while so could you give me a refresh on adjusting the cable please?
Old 04-05-2017, 03:02 PM
Supreme Member

Here it is

https://www.thirdgen.org/detent/

Also it looks like you have a vacuum port or two open. If those are sucking in air then you should put a plug on them
Old 04-06-2017, 07:01 AM