Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

BROKEN K-MEMBER PROBLEMS!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2009, 11:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1987 GTA
Engine: 5.7 TPI
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: 3.27
BROKEN K-MEMBER PROBLEMS!!

My roomate has an 89 firebird formula, and we just did a cam, carb, distributor swap and about to do posi rearend and shift kit. we were underneath the front end doin an oil change and i noticed that the lower control arm on the driver side had broke away from the frame now we have another k member all ready to go in but i cant find any info on how to swap it, my roomate is a collision tech and im an auto tech so we have the tools and common sense to do it once i have an idea of what all needs to come off before it can come out. so any ideas please help im planning on doing this on saturday mornin..
Old 11-20-2009, 11:45 AM

Car: 86 Iroc-Z28 Camaro/84 BMW M Power
Engine: 350TPI/ S50
Transmission: t-5 five speed/ 5 speed
Axle/Gears: 3.42 posi/ 3.73LSD
Re: BROKEN K-MEMBER PROBLEMS!!

I've never done this before. But i would think you would have to jack the car up and safely support it in a way that the suspension hangs free and there is nothing ounder neath the k- member. Next you would proly need a to remove the tires. then use a coil spring compresser to remove the front springs and struts. then i would say unbolt the a-arms and any thing else attaches the a-arm to the rest of the car, like brake lines, sway bar. next after all the suspension on the front is removed you will proly have to support the engine from either a cherry picker(engine crane) or some how from the bottom. Because once the k-member is removed only the tannsmision is holding it in. after that i would say find the bolts that attache it to the rest of the car.

It may be safer or easier to remove the engine, manly for safety but also for accessibillity.
Old 11-20-2009, 12:17 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts