Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Building a 454 SBC, need help with parts

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2018, 03:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Building a 454 SBC, need help with parts

Hey everyone. New member here. Been planning on completely revamping my '87 Trans Am (with a carb'd 305 and a manual transmission) for the past year since i got it, and soon I'll have the money to do so. The biggest job in my opinion is going to be building a new engine.

I play on building a 454 SBC. Extreme, yes, I know, that's the point. I basically want suggestions for parts, because... I'm actually really new to this. I've never built an engine before. I'm 25. A year ago, I didn't even know how a carburetor worked. I've always known the basic things like changing oil, and tires, and air filters, but never any of the complex parts. I've been learning a LOT since i bought this car.

I have a few friends who have told me very basic things that I need for this, but I don't even know where to begin with getting specific parts.

I don't know brands or anything, so please, all recommendations welcome.

So, what I know of what I want is that I plan on boring the cylinders to 4.25", and giving it a 4" stroke.
Forged Pistons, Rods, and Valves, Crank, and Cam.
Aluminum Heads, Intake, and Oil Pan
and Roller Rockers.

My stock 305 has a 600CFM Edelbrock on it. But I think I'd need higher CFM for what I plan on? What would a good number be? 1200?
EDIT: I'm actually planning on using a blowthrough carb for a supercharger. Still have no clue how much CFM I need, or what size super I'd need.

Other work I plan on doing includes putting Coilover suspension on. (I dont even know if that's supposed to be for all 4 wheels? or only a specific 2?)
a LT1 T56 6-speed (this is probably the only specific part i know) which I'd add a twin disc clutch to.