Mid-Atlantic Region Regional board for all of the Mid-Atlantic states. Discuss gatherings and get togethers.

Need some help installing an alarm system..

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2008, 10:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1988 Iroc-z28
Engine: 5.7 350
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 2.77
Need some help installing an alarm system..

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to help me install an Avital Avistart DEI 4400 2-way LCD Alarm/Remote start in my 88 camaro. I've never done this before but I really want to learn how! I'll even buy the lunch =).

I'm about 1 mile from Springfield mall.

-Nate
Old 04-04-2008, 09:04 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 91 RS Camaro, 75 L82 Corvette
Engine: LO3, 383 Stroker
Transmission: 700R4, TH400
Axle/Gears: 4th gen 3.23 posi/LS1 discs, stock
Re: Need some help installing an alarm system..

Good luck with that. I've done it before and it's really not fun, especially on one with a remote start.
Old 04-05-2008, 12:11 AM

Originally Posted by krisb410
Good luck with that. I've done it before and it's really not fun, especially on one with a remote start.
Yea seams like no one's taking the bait. =(
Old 04-05-2008, 05:36 AM

Car: 1990 Camaro RS
Engine: L03 305 TBI
Axle/Gears: 2.73

I'd be more than willing to help, for lunch, and a plane ticket to get there...
best I can do though is offer some tips.

Same image is attached below.
Always test the wires once you find them. Even though it matches what you see on the chart above, you still need to test the wire, to make sure. DO NOT use a test light. Use a digital meter.
If the VATS system is still intact and working on your car, you will need a module to be able to use the remote start feature.
Here's one, but you may be able to find one cheaper, or perhaps local.
There are T-harnesses available to make this a bit easier. I wish I could say "plug and play" but it's still not that simple.
A few tips off the top of my head are as follows: